Connected

I wake up, open the zipper and get out barefoot on the dewy grass. The early rising sun warms up my face and I smile. I feel the cool fresh air of the morning filling up my lungs. There’s no one around for miles. I see mist covering the valley below like a cozy white blanket. People are still sleeping. I hear the wind blowing through the trees in the valley, birds starting to fly around. I don’t need music. I am connected.

I resist the urge of looking at my watch. Time does not matter here. I look back at the sun. Slowly walking towards the lake, I feel I’m home. I lower myself near the edge of the lake and splash my face with cold water. It’s a lot better than a coffee. I take out my shirt and wash a little bit more. The water is cold, but the morning summer sun and the nice wind are replacing the best towel in the world. I am connected.

After walking back to my tent, I take breakfast on a rock. I don’t need a table. Actually I like it more than any other table. I eat slowly, watching a herd of chamois somewhere above me on a steep slope. They do not hurry. Some whistle. Patches of mist start to rise from the valley. They’re so close I can almost touch them. I am connected.

I start packing everything up, I wash my dishes with water from the river and use grass to wipe my knife and my spoon. I disassemble my tent and I let it dry while I walk barefoot on the green grass. I pack everything, then take a look around to make sure I leave no trash behind. I put the rucksack on my back. I love the feeling of the backpack being part of me. I leave, following the trail along the river that will take me down to the valley. I hear the river running over the round stones. I am connected.

The trail goes into the woods. Tall fir trees will join my trail for a little while. I touch some of them. I like the smell of their resin. The river is back nearby, the green vegetation around it and the sun rays falling through the trees make me feel I’m in a fairy tale. I am connected.

The trees change, the vegetation is different, the trail is more like a road now, but I’m still alone with the river and the sun rays. Birds keep singing. The sun is high and I feel its heat. Several hours passed, I don’t know how many, it still doesn’t matter. I am connected.

I start hearing the noise of “civilization”. I remember I should have something called a phone. I look for it, it was turned off, lost somewhere in my backpack. I totally forgot about it. I’m still connected.

The noise is so close now, I’m almost out of the woods, I see some distant buildings, I see the first car after several days, it passes by, speeding, leaving me in a cloud of dust. I curse. I left my home, heading back into “the wild”. I turn on my phone, hit the asphalt, trying to get a ride to the nearest train station. Several hours later I’m back in town. It’s so much noise and people are rushing everywhere. I am disconnected.

Nowadays, many people say we should disconnect.

I say we should connect more.

2 thoughts on “Connected

  1. Ce sentimente unice, ce experiente unice. Ma bucur ca ai reusit sa “parasesti” cercul. Spor la treaba. Viata faina.

    Like

Leave a Reply

