Never Quit

Days ago I was still at work, counting the routine hours and minutes until nothing was left to count. During lunch break, I found myself staring at the motivational wall again. One line there did not seem right. Somehow it did not fit. It never did. Written in bold characters, was the incentive NEVER QUIT.

Sometimes, all you need to do is quit. That’s right: quit something! Quit something big! It’s life changing. It’s scary but you might actually like it. You never know until you try.

The thing is, we always do that. We always quit. We always quit some things for others. Think of it like a trade, just backwards.

Today, I cannot see that line anymore. I have quit. All I see now are the low nimbus clouds passing playfully over the white mountain ridge in a fiery light cast by the afternoon sun. Tiny patches of mist from the valley are dancing with the evergreen trees in a show like no other.

I am mesmerized. I cannot take my eyes off that sight. The movement of the clouds in the winter sun is hypnotizing. The whole world slowly fades away, taking with it worries, fears, goals and expectations. Joy takes over my heart and empties my mind. All I have left, is this moment of pure amazement. And the silence. That’s all.

But I needed to quit something for this. I have quit those bright neon lights. I have quit the stream of too many people shopping on a sunday afternoon. I have quit the rush of the city. I have quit the productivity of a corporation. I have quit the comfort of money in a bank account next month for this moment and the uncertainty of the next one.

She is right next to me now. My monkey princess. She will be flying away in a few days. I don’t even know if I will ever see her again. I have traded my job for a little bit more time with her.

We always quit something. We always trade.

We trade moments, we trade love and joy, things we like and things we don’t like, we trade time or money, we trade noise and silence. It’s not good nor bad. It does not matter. The only thing that matters is that some, we can get them back later, one way or another. While others… they are forever gone…

I say QUIT!

But choose wisely what you quit.

Leave a Reply

